Steel tool rest vs cast iron

petebucy4638

Pete
Corporate Member
I am new to woodturning and decided to add a 12" tool rest to my lathe. The rest that I bought has a steel bar welded on the top instead of being all cast iron, as the tool rest that came with the lathe is. I was surprised at how much easier the gouges and chisels slid across the steel bar than the cast iron rest. Is there an advantage to a cast iron tool rest that I have not figured out?

wndopdlr

wally
Senior User
I have both, but the one made by Robust is as you describe and I would agree that the tool slides much more readily. When I purchase more tool rests, they will definitely be from Robust.

petebucy4638

Pete
Corporate Member
I have both, but the one made by Robust is as you describe and I would agree that the tool slides much more readily. When I purchase more tool rests, they will definitely be from Robust.
Robust is the company that made my 12" tool rest.

chris_goris

Chris
Senior User
Not sure what youre replacing but cast iron deadens vibration. Thats why machine tools are made from it. Not necessarily cheaper though. Lathe tool rests that start as castings have to have some amount of machining to finish them properly. This can involve some intricate workholding. The robust rests are simple welded fabrications and Im sure work fine. Hardly a high tech component though. Castings on the other hand require "hard tools" to manufacture and the designs are static where as a simple, cut (any shape) , bend (any shape) ,welded fabrication allows for more design flexibility.

iclark

Ivan
User
Cast iron rests need to be maintained. Divots are removed with a mill-smooth file. The Flat surface is then waxed to get that smooth glide.

If you use a skew and cast iron rests, then the edges of the skew need to be eased so that they do not cut into the rest.

Michael Mathews

Michael
Corporate Member