Sealing end grain

Status
Not open for further replies.

weelis

New User
weelis
Whn I use to seal the end grain of freshly milled lumber? Is there anything beside Anchorseal? Thnx.

Mark Gottesman

New User
Mark
I think Anchorseal is your best bet, but I have used 3 coats of latex paint on endgrain of short logs I have split in quarters. i believe you can also use white glue, but I have no experience with that.

red

Papa Red
Red
Senior User
I've always just used leftover latex paint and it's worked well.

Red

patlaw

Mike
Corporate Member
It would be interesting to see how well Charles McNeil's products work on sealing end grain.

danmart77

Dan
Corporate Member
Whn I use to seal the end grain of freshly milled lumber? Is there anything beside Anchorseal? Thnx.

Like others said, latex paint will work to seal end grain. A little bit better way is to take "old yellow glue or white glue" you have that is older than 12 months and use this. You cut the old thick glue 50/50 with water, mix it up and paint it on. Seals up the end grain better than paint. A note of interest: when I was in England I found several brick masons using old yellow glue as a sizing solution. They would cut the old glue fairly thin in a bucket and paint it on brick to retard the water absorption in the brick. I have tried it here in Durham and it works like magic. The water beads on the brick like a freshly waxed car does after you buff it out. There's no risk/cost in trying the old glue path. Surely you have some old glue you wonder about. Then again... we all have old latex paint too. Just a thought.

Howard Acheson

New User
Howard
Anchorseal is the best choice. However, it must be applied within an hour or so of bucking the log to length.

Anchorseal works by almost totally preventing water vapor from passing out of the end grain of the log thereby minimizing end splitting and/or checking. The water vapor is forced to escape by exiting through the circumference of the log.