Resin Tear Out on a Helical Style Planer

Jasonfromhendo

Jason
User
I'm pretty new to making charcuterie boards with an epoxy river running through the middle. I'm also pretty new to planing these things. I have a helical style planer and on the back it totally tore the epoxy up! I mean like three or four divots per square inch. There must be 150 divots on the back of the board, and some are probably a millimeter or two deep! Is this normal?? It seems like if so I will need to be exceedingly careful to only plane the wood and not touch the level where the resin starts. Is this still the case with a knife blade style of planer? I feel like I have seen a number of videos where things go fine with a knife blade planer and it's 60-80 grit sandpaper and you're off to the races. I don't even think I will try to sand down the back of this thing, it would take a day to get deep enough to remove all the divots..
And FWIW I was using the Wixey to dial in like 1/3 of a millimeter of depth on the passes.

Echd

C
User
The best way to handle epoxy resin is with a router sled IMO. They make bits with negative rake inserts (check out rip precision for an example) that will reduce tearout even further but I've never had issues with tearout using Carbide cutterheads and spiral bits. I use my cnc router but it's the same idea. Mind you, you'll still have to sand/polish.

With all those divots though, is there any chance you had issues with bubbles under the surface? I find for epoxy doing a "seal coat" is imperative unless you want to spend hours with a torch popping bubbles, and some woods will let out bubbles for a long time.

I find sanding epoxy to a mirror finish to be rather tedious, and as epoxy wears slower than wood if you aren't careful the epoxy can end up "proud" to the wood.

Jasonfromhendo

Jason
User