Problems with Porter Cable Dove Tail Jig

Status
Not open for further replies.

Travis

New User
Travis
Take a look at the images below. I was trying to dove the plywood shown for drawer sides. Either you can not dovetail plywood or I am doing something wrong. Any thoughts.

DSC057141.JPG

DSC057131.JPG

DSC057121.JPG

Thanks

Sabre2

New User
Sabre2
I have never tried to dovetail plywood before, but I understand BB ply can be done. Did you use a backer board? That will definitely eliminate or significantly reduce tear out. By the looks of the last photo, you might not have the correct depth set on your router bits.

I don't know if you used 2 routers, but it makes thing a whole easier. Set one for pins and one for tails, that way you know after your test pieces the dovetails will mate perfectly.

Hope this helps

Gary

Travis

New User
Travis
Yep, i used the backer as the manual suggested. What was the indication that the depth needs to be deeper. Tehse are my first ones so any information would be great.

photog

New User
Dan
I had tear-out when I tried the same thing on 1/2" BB on my 4212. However not as severe as yours. It was enough to make me stop, abandon the idea for the time being and chuck up a drawer lock bit in the router table. I plan to revisit the issue, because dovetails on drawers was my primary reason for buying the jig. I decided to go solid wood on the next project with the plywood tear-out in the back of my mind and re-sawed some Poplar down to 1/2" and made a bunch of drawer sides with half blinds as pretty as you please.

I think there might be a way to back the cuts up by clamping something thin in with the work piece. I'll be anxious to here from some of our problem solvers here.

Ralrick

New User
Rick
Travis -