Next Tool Purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Craig Eick

Craig
Senior User
Hello
I am new to the woodworking world as enjoyed reading and learning from this website. As my skills get better and i continue to gain more experience specific to woodworking I find myself wanting to purchase additional tools and equipment. I am 56 years old; therefore, I am trying to purchase tools that could potentially last until my last days of woodworking. At this time i do not know if there is a specific area of wood working that I want to focus on. At this time i am enjoying everything i do. I eventually want to get a lathe get involved with turning. Currently i am trying to decide between a powermatic 8" jointer or a Laguna 14" bandsaw. Space is a consideration as both pieces of equipment will have to be mobile. I have a table saw, planer, sliding miter and other smaller tools. My shop is a detached two car garage that also houses two vehicles which I move out when i am working on projects.

I have read older threads regarding thoughts on next purchase; however, i wanted to reach out as well. Given my experience level, age etc I would appreciate any thoughts, guidance, recommendations etc. I enjoy other activities and have been surprised how much i do enjoy woodworking and look forward to improving my skills and continuing with this Hobby.

Thank you in advance

Craig

gmakra

New User
George
I opt for the bandsaw based on my actual usage I run my bandsaw 20 or 30 x to the one time I run a jointer and a good jointer plane takes a lot less space and is almost as fast as a jointer

Grimmy2016

Scott