newbie intro (with photos!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

smallboat

smallboat
Corporate Member
Well, I've been lurking for a while and even posted a few comments along the way. I figured its time to introduce myself. First off, let's be clear. I'm not a woodworker. Not in the sense I see from the members here. But I do like to build things now and then and appreciate the combined wisdom of this group.

I'll have to dig up some incriminating photos from the 70's to post in the "who we are" forum.
In the mean time here are some shots of a project I just finished.
21_ready2skin.jpg

View image in gallery

I've built other boats and this is my first attempt at this construction technique. Lets just say I learned a lot in the process. If anyone else is intrigued and thinking of building one I can share what I've learned. I'll be building two more, one for a buddy ( he's helping) and one for his wife. I get to keep the first one. Maybe I'll name it "Learning Curve" This one came in at 17lbs complete. If you try you could probably get it in at 15 or so. Not bad for a 12' boat.

Since this was somewhat of an experiment I figured I'd work with materials on hand. I'd picked a real nice 1x10 Douglas fir a while back when I was building another boat. I knew I would use it sooner or later. At 8' long I had to rip it in half and scarf the ends together. I was able to get most of the boat out of that. I had also stashed the remains of a redwood picnic table my family had when I was growing up. Its good clear wood and very light. I don't mind a couple scars where the fasteners were. The only wood I purchased was some ash for the steam bent ribs. While I was at it I got enough to do the rubrails since its tougher than anything else I had. It was such a nice contrast with the redwood, I used it for some decorative details. This kind of boat probably doesn't justify them but it was a good exercise and I'll be able to enjoy them when the fish aren't biting.