New Guy From Raleigh

Status
Not open for further replies.

rotel

New User
Rotel
Hello fellow woodworkers!

My name is Mike and I am very new to woodworking. I am a network administrator by day and on my time off I try to unplug as much as I can. I am interested in woodworking for the challenge and for the creative outlet. Some of my other interests include photography...mainly time-lapse photography. I am a relocated yankee from Vermont. I have lived in NC for 9yrs now. I don't miss the almost 6 months of winter, but I sure do miss the food in Vermont.

I would like to start out small and get some more experience with my tools working on a few cutting boards and boxes and then go from there. This site has a wealth of knowledge on it and I am excited to learn with you all.

I don't have any project pictures yet so I will share some non-related pictures for now.

Picture of my 112lb golden Cabot and a picture I took at surfside beach this summer.
Cabot_03_2010_1.jpg

surfside_beach.jpg

wrwilder

New User
Ray
Hello and welcome to NCWW. Your right, this place is a wealth of knowledge and the members are very generous in passing on their knowledge of the craft. You'll come to use this as you first source of information on woodworking.

Again welcome.

Skymaster

New User
Jack
Welcome Mike :gar-Bi I am in Zebulon, not far from you, also transplant, from Joisey, a yr ago.Anything If I can be of help just holler

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member
Welcome. The main focus of NCWW is education relating to woodworking. There are lots of opportunities here, just keep watching!

Doug

LeftyTom

Tom
Corporate Member
Welcome, Mike. Lots of relaxing on here, from harpsichord building to scroll saw, to (gasp!) woodturning.

As for meeting other amateur photogs in the Triangle area, I know a guy named Gene Van Horne, who used to live between Knightdale and Raleigh. He is still down around Raleigh, but do not know where.

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member