Lumber Storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

weelis

New User
weelis
I know this topic of how do I store my lumber has come up many times but,as a newbie, I don't recall reading posts about it. My question is how do y'all out there store/ stack your wood? Are any of the commercial racks any good and if so which ones? Or do you build your own racks and what do they look like? I have lots of questions but few answers. Any input appreciated. Thanx.

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
I use a couple Triton lumber racks to store long boards (10-12ft). Best price I've found is at Sommerfeld Tools. With four supports (using two kits) it can hold plenty of weight.
rack11.jpg

View image in gallery

For shorter boards (6-9ft) I built some simple storage bays using 2x4, plywood and OSB dividers. You can't really tell from the picture, but the back of the frame tilts out at 7 degrees to make sure nothing falls forward. Vertical storage is a great way to easily sort through boards and cut down on the heavy lifting.

Two of the bays are 2' wide, and one is 4' wide so I can store sheets goods (and drywall...) I plan to add 3-4 bays since I'm already out of space :)

Shorts go in a rolling cart:

I also put a Triton wood rack in the main shop area to hold the boards I'm using for the current project.

Rob

New User
Rob
I built a rack on one side, plywood storage in the middle, and scrap bins on the other side.

woodrack_2_.JPG

woodrack.JPG

eyekode

New User
Salem
I built a lumber rack on my wall and immediately wished I had not :). It is just too tough to sort through the lumber to get the piece you want. Especially if you do it like I did and make a very high lumber rack. I am convinced that a vertical rack is the way to go.

Salem

kooshball

David
Corporate Member
This may be extreme but it is something that I have thought about; consider buying a shed from the BORG. If you have a small shop it may be worth it.