Heater for shop...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmauldin

New User
Jim
Like every one else I receive a lot of "junk" mail, but one piece caught my eye. It is for a EdenPureQuartz Infrared Portable Heater that will heat up to 1,000 sq. ft and is advertised to cut heating bill by 50%. For those who use their two-car garage of have a small shop this might be something to investigate. It will not start a fire, will not dry the air, will not harm children. They did not provide a web site, but if one did a Google search for EdenPure it should come up. Their phone # is 1-800-577-2582.
Jim in Mayberry

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Thanks for posting that Jim, I am currently looking for an alternative to my MR. Heater.

Sealeveler

Tony
Corporate Member
I have no experience with that brand but when I built frp boats I had infrared heaters and they heated the surfaces fast and were explosion proof.They were very efficient.
Tony

DIYGUY

New User
Mark
Space heaters in general have their limitations. Several years back I was in search of such a critter and evaluated many options - LP, kerosene, radiant, etc. What it all came to in the end was not much as I never did anything. If my memory serves me, every fuel source had its problems.

The least problematic for me was electricity, but others may have a different need. The amount of heat you can generate from electricity is a function of the wattage. I don't have the formula handy, but IIRC, heating 1000CF of space with a 15A circuit was very iffy. Too many factors came to play - the insulation of the room (mine was none), how often the air was exchanged, the amount of cast iron (heat sink), etc. I am leery of claims that seem too good to be true - they usually are.