Fuji mini mite

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris_goris

Chris
Senior User
So, I needed to paint a bunch of cabinets and what better time to get into HVLP?. So , I did some research and determined for my use the Fuji mini mite system was the one for me (me, no one else). It arrived and was nicely packed with everything required to spray. I even bought the additional "whip" hose, I cant imagine using this thing without it. I am brand new to spraying fine finishes but I did alot of reading etc and dove right in. I am spraying a cream white color Sherwinn Williams ProClassic Alklyd paint. It only required minor thinning to get it to spray nicely and uniformly. Let me tell you, if youve never tried spraying or are unsure, dont be! These things will make even a paint hack like me look like I know what Im doing. But, preperation is key. I spent FOREVER priming, sanding, patching,priming, sanding… well you get it. in the end this thing laid down paint glass smooth easily. Now for the bad. I was using it for the fourth time today and the trigger which controls the airlflow started sticking, so only air was coming out of the gun while the trigger was not depressed. I was able to finish by "snapping" the trigger to get it to close, but it was extremely frustrating and annoying. When I finished, thankfully this problem occurred near the end of my spray job, I cleaned the gun as I always did and then dismantled the air/trigger mechanism. There is a hollow shaft with a llrger diameter piston valve that passes through 2 plastic lip seals that is spring returned that was hanginging up. This is not in an area where paint gets to, so the problem isnt a dirty gun. There is too much friction between the shaft and the seals for the spring to overcome (apparently over time) to shutoff airflow. I put some light oil on it and reassmebled it, but it didnt help. I will be calling Fuji on Monday!. The other poor design flaw I noted was a secondary "diaphragm" inside the paint cup (