Delivered the last of the baby furniture!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alan in Little Washington

Alan Schaffter
Corporate Member
Last weekend, my wife and I went to the Baltimore/DC area for a late XMAS celebration with our kids and grandkids.

We delivered the last piece of nursery furniture, a book/toy case, to our son and daughter-in-law for our grandson's room. Since it has been sitting around for a few weeks I already posted pics- but here is another shot and a reprise of the other pieces:

IMG_43691.JPG

DSC03957.JPG

A happy cusomer:

150225_482508231791250_1195111690_n.jpg

Also delivered were a bed and night stand I built for our granddaughter- her first "big girl bed" The design is "modified Pottery Barn" which I re-drew in SketchUp first. Headboard/footboard panels were made from back-to-back glued sheets of hardboard beadboard, everything else is poplar. The headboard/footboard rails were joined with M&T. I'm a relative rookie turner so I turned the ball finials and lower bed legs separately. The finials are removable in case I ever get a request to convert it to a canopy bed. I took a chance with the nightstand legs- the turned section is part of the legs. They came out pretty well- you could only tell the difference in the turned profiles when they were sitting on the bench next to each other. The drawer was made with box joints (the I-BOX is much quicker than my Leigh jig). I applied a bead board panel to the front and wrapped it with cocksbead. Finish is Benjamin Moore waterborne satin Impervo 100% acrylic latex shot with my Graco airless and a lot of guidance from Brent- the finish came out well- thanks Brent!

Zoe_Bed-SU-2.jpg

Night_Table-SU.jpg

IMG_4462.JPG

IMG_4460.JPG

Another happy customer:

IMG_4461.JPG

Last edited:

ErnieM

Ernie
Corporate Member
I'm sure your grand-kids will enjoy your efforts for years to come. Great work, as usual. Of course, you cheated by using that I-Box thingy.:)

Ernie

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member