Corian Pens

Status
Not open for further replies.

William Roscoe

New User
William
I'm just getting started turning pens and noticed corian and acrylic as some more choices for turning materials. Seems like corian would dull your tools pretty quick:dontknow:. Any of you guys have any advice about these materials:icon_scra???

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Corian does dull them somewhat, but not too bad. I think it is fun to turn.

TracyP

Tracy
I don't even know what corian is, much less where to get it.
Woodcraft in Greensboro keeps a selection of Corian blanks in stock. Corian is high end counter top materials.

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
Corian is a little harder than your regular acrylic. It will dull your tools a little quicker that most woods or acrylic. Make sure to keep it cool when drilling it. It is laminated and the heat can cause it to seperate, other that that it is easy to turn and polishes just like acrylic.

nblong

New User
Bruce
I haven't had any trouble turning Corian. The plus side is that it finishes pretty well (IMHO), the finish lasts, and people who've never seen one can be pretty impressed. It's kind of fun to see the "It's made out of WHAT?" look on their faces when you tell them it's countertop.

William Roscoe

New User
William
The only reason I know about it was I saw some blanks for sale on the sawmill creek forum. They had all the colors and were pre-drilled and very inexpensive. I guess you sand it like you do wood:dontknow: and rub on some BLO or something:icon_scra

TracyP

Tracy
The only reason I know about it was I saw some blanks for sale on the sawmill creek forum. They had all the colors and were pre-drilled and very inexpensive. I guess you sand it like you do wood:dontknow: and rub on some BLO or something:icon_scra

I do mine with micromesh on the lathe and then apply a plastic polish after that. Friction polish works well also.

CaptnA

Andy
Corporate Member