Cherry vs Oak for Library Table project

KurtB

Kurt
Corporate Member
I'm new to working with hardwoods and looking to build a Shaker style library table. I'd like to use cherry as I've heard it's fairly easy to work.
The question I have is over cherry's tendency to darken with time. The table will be in the entrance to our house and my wife has a large mirror and some plants and small items sitting on the table that's currently there. I'm worried about the cherry developing light spots where the stuff sits on it and blocks the light. So I'm also considering quarter-sawn oak for the project. I'll be doing most of the work with hand tools.

Thought I'd get some opinions from you more experienced folks on which way you might go, oak vs cherry, in this situation? And also a good place to buy the lumber. I'm on the coast by Swansboro.
Thanks very much for your input.
Kurt

JohnnyR

John
Corporate Member
If the objects on the table stay in one place you will absolutely have light spots. If you can move them around so all of the table sees approximately the same amount of light it should be OK. If it's in direct sunlight it will exacerbate the problem quicker. If you go with cherry, you should let the empty table sit in sunlight for several weeks ( not sure how long) to let it darken which will substantially reduce the problem.

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
I'm worried about the cherry developing light spots where the stuff sits on it and blocks the light.
For the short term, this is almost a certainty if things are left in the same spot for months at a time, particularly if table top is subject to direct sunlight. The up side is that eventually the table top's color will stabilize to that beautiful cherry color that made you consider cherry in the first place. Maybe set up a ping on your calendar to move things opposite hand or something.
I'm not sure any newly made table top won't do that to some degree, oak, cherry, walnut, or whatever.

red

Papa Red
Red