Best Finish for Douglas Fir Timber Frame Home

FrankK

New User
Frank
We are building a timber frame home with Douglas Fir lumber. We would like to preserve the natural pinkish color as much as possible. As a woodworker, I have always used Tung Oil or Linseed Oil on various projects and woods, and it comes out as a beautiful finish. I have no experience with Douglas Fir. My wife doesn't trust my judgement on any so important as her new home. She wants second expert opinions.

Starting Timberframe.jpg
Polyurethane seems to darken with age and I'm hesitant to use that. I don't want to ruin the natural color with any stain.

As there are hundreds of pieces, we thought it would be easier to coat them as they are assembled. Except for the ceiling trusses which would be easier to paint on the ground, but there is not an overwhelming number of those. Thanks!

Reference Handiwork

Ref
Senior User
Wow! Where is this home!? I love Doug Fir! But I hate to say that the mantra I've adopted is "all wood darkens with age." Our last home was in Oregon, a 1913 bungalow, and the floors (along with just about everything else) were Doug Fir. Everything had darkened to a nice rich honey color. I don't think you'd want to use poly.

Have you looked into Penofin Verde? It's one of my favorite oil finishes and looks great on fir. Worth looking at

FrankK

New User
Frank
Haven't heard of that, but I'll look into it.

Our home is in WNC, about an hour north of Asheville. We love this area!

Jim Wallace

jimwallacewoodturning.com
Jim
Corporate Member

I have been using their Bees Block Oil to finish bowls that I turn green. I really love this finish. They make several products specifically for timber frame construction.

dancam

Dan
Corporate Member
I built a timber-frame home here in Asheville in 2004-5, and we used Penofin interior oil, and the pine timbers have aged with a beautiful honey tone.

Jim Wallace

jimwallacewoodturning.com
Jim
Corporate Member