Bending Plywood Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

BillPappas

New User
Bill
I need some help. I am designing my home office furniture (desk) and want it to have some curves. So I am considering laminating together 5 pieces of 3/8 inch bending plywood to serve as the legs. The legs will be about 2 inches thick and almost as wide as the desk top so they will be fairly substantial in size. I have never used bending plywood before so I have a couple of questions I thought someone might be able to help me with. A crude drawing is attached...

1. What kind of a radius might I be able to achieve with 5 pieces of bending plywood.

2. Should I try and laminate them all at once in the vacuum bag or laminate 2 pieces, then the 3 and finally put the 2 lamminated pieces together?

3. How strong or maybe better said how much weight would the laminated leg support when the force is applied from top which is shown in the attached picture as "Force - High". The top of the desk would sit on the laminated legs so it will have some weight to it and then all the stuff that goes on the top of the desk like a monitor, keyboard, etc.

Laminated_Leg008.jpg

Any thoughts or ideas are appreciated.

Regards,

Bill

gordonmt

New User
Mark Gordon
I did some bending wood project in my past but I have never used plywood as the bending medium. I have always used solid wood and without a steamer rack or other more specific equipment, I needed to rip my peices down to about 1/8 inch or maybe a little wider.
I soaked the wood in water for several hours (overnight) then I clamped the wet pieces into the shape I wanted and let them dry. After drying, remove from the shape clamp and then glue together and put them back into the shape clamp.

The end product is extreamely strong and has virtually not spring back tendancy. Once shaped and glued, it's done.
Here is a picture of the result of bending wood.
Plant_stand.JPG

Coat_rack3.JPG

rbdoby

New User
Rick
Bill,