Advice needed on hand planing a tabletop

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave

New User
Dave
The 20th is my last day at work (being laid off) and I am using this opportunity to spend more time in the shop and hopefully grow my skills beyond a hobbyist. One of the first assignments from my wife is a dining room table. She saw a very simple, country style table made from pine and she wants something similar.

I have no experience planing by hand and don't even have any planes. So, my first question is what type of planes do I need for this project? And what is a decent brand? Being out of work, I'll not be buying top of the line, but I would like some that I can use for a couple years until I am more skilled and can afford nicer tools.

I plan to use 8" boards and dimension the top at 40"x84". Should I plane the boards separately, join them together and then plane again? Since I'll be using pine, I am not worried about making mistakes since the materials are inexpensive. I actually need to make some mistakes since I learn so much better that way! :D

Thanks!
Dave

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Drive over to Pittsboro, discuss your plans with Mr. Ed Lebetkin at the tool room over Roy Underhill's school. He has good used tools at reasonable prices.

Basically you will need three planes, a try plane (#5 or 6 with radiused blade) to rough and quickly thickness the boards. Jointer to get the edge ready to glue and also the flatten the top, then a #4 smoother to finish the surface.

Last edited:

bluedawg76

New User
Sam
good advice from Mike.