Turning Novice Looking for Recs for Sharpening and Lathe Parts

Pointfiveone.5

Dru
Senior User
Hey All!

So I was gifted a HF mini lathe (Central Machinery 10"x 18") at the beginning of the pandemic in the effort to maintain some sanity and keep my hands on materials, but I am a complete novice. Barry at Klingspor's Winston was kind enough to reshape and sharpen my tools for me as I do not have the proper sharpening equipment and I was off. A few candle sticks later and the bug was implanted. But now my cheap tools are dull and though Barry set a good price for sharpening, I need to get in order to do it myself.

I have a grinder but need to know what wheels to get on a relatively limited budget to keep a good edge on these tools. That's to start.

I am also wondering what parts and bits I need to take the leap into bowl turning as I can only turn spindles ATM.

All recs welcome - Looking forward to hearing from the turners here!
Thanks All!

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
Does your current bench grinder have wheels on it now?
If so, chances are you don't need to spend $250.00 on a couple of new CBN wheels.
The Oneway sharpening jigs are pretty much the standard. Check them out. With a little imagination, you may be able to make something like that yourself.
Cross grain turning pretty much requires its own set of purpose-ground tools.
If you really love to sand, you can get carbide tipped scraper tools.

Pointfiveone.5

Dru
Senior User
Does your current bench grinder have wheels on it now?
If so, chances are you don't need to spend $250.00 on a couple of new CBN wheels.
The Oneway sharpening jigs are pretty much the standard. Check them out. With a little imagination, you may be able to make something like that yourself.
Cross grain turning pretty much requires its own set of purpose-ground tools.
If you really love to sand, you can get carbide tipped scraper tools.
I Do have wheels on it, just completely ignorant to what they are TBH.