Planning for Expansion due to Humidity Change

MarkDarby

Mark
Corporate Member
Hi all. I'm a mid-level woodworker who is building a project that is larger than any I've ever done. I'm also in the middle of over-thinking it. I could use your advice.

I'm building a fireplace mantle (basically a box) out of black walnut (I know this will be expensive - but my wife loves black walnut). The fireplace is gas with a stone facade. We use it frequently. The mantle will be 12" deep, 6" thick, and 9' long.

The current plan is for the bottom to be a solid piece -- 3/4" thick. I plan to cut a 1/4" dado in the front, end and side pieces and a rabbet on the bottom -- like a panel. I plan to glue the bottom to the front along the full length. Since the bottom will be cross-grain with the side, I plan to glue only the front 2". I will not glue the bottom to the back.

My question: How much should I allow for expansion? My logic and assumptions:
-- a maximum humidity variation of 10% between summer and winter. I live near Raleigh, NC, and have natural gas, force-air gas heat.
-- the bottom will be flat-sawn.

I calculate the variation of the bottom's width to be (using this article: https://www.popularwoodworking.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/WoodMovement.pdf):

12" (board width)
x 10 (a 10% variation in ambient humidity)
x 0.00274 (the dimensional change coefficient for flat-sawn black walnut)

Alternatively, I'm considering making the bottom as a piece of veneered MDF. This would be cheaper and eliminate the width variation issue.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance...

Mark

mdbuntyn

Matt
Staff member
Corporate Member
You made a small mistake when choosing your numbers: You were supposed to use the change in the wood's moisture content, not the room's humidity level. With a change in MC between 2-5% (assuming a low of 7% MC and a high of 9-12% MC), you could expect between 0.066-0.1644" of movement.

MarkDarby

Mark
Corporate Member