Handplanes - and set up (woes)

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
I am a relative novice when it comes to hand planes, but find myself reaching for the few I do have more often. Several are inherited from my Dad, one a gift from him long ago, and a few others (shoulder plane, block plane, and a mini-block plane). LV shoulder plane has been the most used, and the only one I actually purchased. It has been used as delivered.

I do not know or understand the numbering system, but I do know
- one is a Footprint brand, made in England, and is a No 4.
- The other is a 14" long Stanley Handyman - which is both stamped on the top area of the blade and cast into the lever cap. No idea what 'number' equivalent that makes it.
The construction of these two is completely identical, except of course the length of the body of the plane. The blade, cap iron, cap iron screw, lever cap, etc are all interchangeable. I imagine the res of the parts are too.
20210310_114247.jpg
20210310_110903.jpg

I have one set of blade and cap iron that works well in either plane body. Using the other set, the shavings jam between the cap iron and the blade. I have the cap iron set as close to the blade edge as I can, while still seeing a sliver of the blade. My near vision is not good enough to see a gap between the two, but clearly it is there.

So how do I remedy this?

I have just sharpened both blades (one was badly nicked) using abrasives on glass, and a LV Mk ii guide. It's not perfect but serviceable results (on the blades).

Thanks

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Usually all that is needed is to hone the cap iron at the tip with the edge on the stone and the body angled down a bit lower than the surface of the stone (maybe 1/2 inch lower?).

Hone until the flat is equal across the inside end of the curved part and there is no gap when you hold the two parts up to a light and look between the two parts from the inside edge..