Free oak tree in Durham

Status
Not open for further replies.

adowden

Amy
Corporate Member
Here is an attachment for a free oak tree in Durham. I know nothing about it except what the e-mail says. The owners would like it to be felled and removed. A friend sent it to me because she knew that I was a woodworker. I did just contact the owners via e-mail to make sure that it was still there, and it is. The owners e-mail address is as follows: res17bem@yahoo.com

Good Luck!

Attachments

• [FreecycleOrange] Offer_ Oak Tree.txt
    611 bytes · Views: 176

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Hmmm, I wonder about the 600 yrs. old. Jeff...that could be a good one for you. I wonder how difficult the felling would be, I suspect that it's going to be pretty close to a house :eusa_thin :eusa_thin

Dave:)

DaveO

New User
DaveO
An Oak tree that old is possible The Wye Oak in MD has been dated back to the 1500's and until it died recently regined as the largest Oak in the US. Oaks in the 200-300 yr. old range are fairly common as far as old Oak trees go.

J

jeff...

"From: "Pat Jones" <res17bem@yahoo.com>
To: <freecycleorange@yahoogroups.com>
Subject: [FreecycleOrange] Offer: Oak Tree
Date: Thursday, September 07, 2006 11:41 PM

We have an oak tree which is probably 600 years old (very large) that was hit by lighting.
We were wondering if anyone would be interested in the tree for the wood. You must have the expertise to take the tree down and remove all of it.
It is located near DRH in Durham.

---------------------------------
Get your email and more, right on the new Yahoo.com

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]"

Couple of things dis-qualify me from this tree.