Enlarging an opening in granite countertop

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
I bought a new 30" cooktop, but unfortunately the opening is too small. I need to cut off about 1/4" on the long end at the back of the opening, closest to the backsplash. I have zero experience cutting stone, how feasible is it to do this with an average grinder and diamond wheel? I can imagine there being a lot of dust and/ or water involved to make this cut, and keeping the line straight might be a bit of a challenge.

If the DIY route is not advisable, any recommendations for a qualified professional to do this? I'm in Cary.

Graywolf

Board of Directors, President
Richard
Staff member
Corporate Member
You need to call a granite countertop company in your area. Trust me when I say let the professionals do it. And yes it’s going to be messy.

HMH

Heath Hendrick
Senior User
I'm all for the DIY energy - but in this case, considering the replacement cost of that size of stone for a miscut/ chip out, and being a foreign material to you, (or mine anyway) experience - I'd call the pros, and chalk it up to cheap insurance.

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
I've cut granite a few times. Skill saw and diamond blade. I used a straight edge clamped down. My granite was not installed. There ain't a shop vac on the planet that will catch all of the dust. Maybe half. The other half is a lot! Rots a ruck my friend. This ain't for the faint of heart. It's more of an adventure!

chris_goris

Chris
Senior User
Ive done it at my old house just prior to moving. I had to replace the cooktop before closing. I used an angle grinder and cutoff wheel. IT WAS A MESS!!!!! I built a plastic tent to enclose some of the dust, but it still went everywhere. But it can be done. I had recently had the countertops installed ($7300 worth) so I was nervous to say the least but it had to be done. Would I recommend it? no. just too messy.

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member