Axiom AR8 2’x4’ As First CNC

TitanFlyer

New User
TitanFlyer
Hey there,

First I want to say I am trying to follow the age old advice of “buy your second one first”.

First post here, and wanted to get some advice from people in the area. I am purchasing an Axiom AR8 Basic (meaning exact same as the pro model, difference being it has a Bosch router rather than a 3hp spindle) from a local guy. I have been looking at OneFinity and Shapeoko and doing the research, but then this popped up as an opportunity. I figured if nothing else, I could sell it again if it didn’t work out for me, but with the deal I got, I think I will give it a shot over the other consumer type CNC machines that include assembly and all that. I am paying far less than I would if I ordered a new OneFinity Elite machine.

So, I have a Civil Engineering degree and used CAD a lot in that world, but it’s been a while. I know the software is the hard part, and wondering if there is any advice on which one is easier to get educated on. I am not planning on making any 3D topographical maps or anything, I literally want to learn a new hobby and maybe make some gifts for people. I have always wanted to work more with wood, but not in the deck building or projects with “lumber”, so this might be something that’s fun to play with.

I pick it up this evening (if all the stuff aligns) so I am looking for anyone that thinks I am nuts doing this. Its a pretty beefy machine and hoping it works out for me, but if I am walking into an obvious mistake, would like to hear it now.

Thanks. Not sure if I need to put my flame suit on, but ready for it anyway.

James

JNCarr

Joe
Corporate Member