Special Events in the next 30 days

Nickname
    Steve
    Visit Freq
    2.38 visits/week
    Threads
    Classifieds

Band saw repair?

It's been a while since I've done anything woodworking related. I had left elbow surgery and haven't been in the mood to really do anything. I'm trying to force myself back into the garage hoping that once I get in there I'll get back to it.

Right before the surgery I had bought a used Grizzly G1019 14" bandsaw. It had some missing parts and was a little worn, but the motor worked and for $150ish I figured it was worth the risk to try to put it back together.

I ordered what I thought was the missing parts from Grizzly and then had surgery. Probaby another $100ish. I think that if I can get it working it'd still be better than buying a new G0555 for about $600-$900.

I'm trying to put it back together but the top wheel is stuck on and I can't get it off, and since I have never used a bandsaw before let alone build one, I wouldn't mind having someone who has some experience and knows what they're doing.

I was wondering if I could either bring it with me on the next Charlotte meetup to see if people could help piece it back together or if someone in the Huntersville area would be interested in helping out.

Corporate Member
    DQ
    Nickname
    Raymond (64)
    Visit Freq
    6.96 visits/week
    Threads
    Classifieds

Re: Band saw repair?

Steve, I am committed for this coming Saturday (14 July) but the Saturday after (21 July) - I would be glad to come by and take a look at it. Let me know if that will work out for you as a first step (unless someone visits with you sooner)!

Edit: If you don't have a manual, use the link below to download one.

https://cdn0.grizzly.com/manuals/g1019_m.pdf
    Last edited by Raymond; 07-09-2018 at 05:08 PM.
    I like making things. I have a wood shop at home. I am a terrible carpenter but I love doing it. Raymond - Charlotte, NC

Nickname
    Sam
    Visit Freq
    6.00 visits/week