DQ
    Nickname
    DannyBoy
    Visit Freq
    1.84 visits/week
    Threads
    Classifieds

Recommendation for first handplane

I am a beginner and want to learn how to use handplane so i can true up some small pieces of wood and make some simple boxes. I have a small stanley block plane i bought at lowes a few years back. It seems to be of low quality as it always loosens up as i use it. I want to buy a larger handplane and from what i read a number 4 or 5 seems to bea good general purpose plane. I have ruled out buying an older one and refurbishing. My question to the group is for recommendation .... Brand, size, cost, source, for a good quality plane.

Senior User
    DQ

Nickname
    Chris
    Visit Freq
    6.92 visits/week
    Threads
    Classifieds

Re: Recommendation for first handplane

Quote Originally Posted by DannyBoy View Post
    I have ruled out buying an older one and refurbishing.
    I gotta ask why? All (almost all) of the things that go into rehabbing a plane are skills you'll need to keep one in working order... even a $400 lie-nielsen.

3. The following user says Thank You to Chris C for this useful post:

User
    DQ
    Nickname
    DannyBoy
    Visit Freq
    1.84 visits/week
    Threads
    Classifieds

Because i dont know which ones are worth fixing up.

Senior User
    DQ

Nickname
    Chris
    Visit Freq
    6.92 visits/week
    Threads
    Classifieds

Because i dont know which ones are worth fixing up.
    That's a good reason... But a little research on Stanley planes should make the difference easier to understand. Run by New Bern Antique Mall and Poor Charlie's.... Both in New Bern. There is a booth in each that have a good selection of quality planes. A little pricey but not out of reason. I'd do my research before I pulled the trigger but that's a good way to look at and hold a decent example before you decide which way to go.

Senior User
    DQ

Nickname
    Chris
    Visit Freq
    6.92 visits/week
    Threads