West Penn Hardwoods (Ad 2)

Special Events in the next 30 days

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 88
  1. #1
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Sawstop - stil stopped

    I finished up my third call to Sawstop technical support this morning. This time we spent over an hour trying to determine what was causing my new Sawstop professional 3hp cabinet saw from starting. Since this problem started I have loosened, cleaned and re tightened the arbor sensor, changed out the brake, tested the data port at the switch and tested the saw motor relay, and tested the saw blade rotation sensor. We also tested for a couple of error codes by using bypass mode and the paddle switch. All with no success.

    As I noted in a previous thread; the saw intermittently will not start. When this happens it flashing the wet wood code - fast flashing red light. I was starting to think that it was possible a problem with the motor until I opened the relay cover and activated it manually. It started up instantly.

    The tech, said that they error codes that the saw was was displaying showed "too much signal." He didn't know what would be causing the problem. We finished up with him saying that he was going to contact one of their engineers to see if they could send me a test brake to try to capture more error codes. He also suggested that I should bring the brake inside tonight where it would be warmer, then try the warm brake tomorrow morning to see if the saw would start. The temperature in my garage never goes below 45 degrees and is usually around 55 degrees when it is below freezing outside. I was not aware that Sawstop saws were cold sensitive. And if it turns out that cold brake is causing the fault, am I supposed to have remove the brake every time I stop the saw and put it someplace warm?

    Have any of the Sawstop owners had cold related issues with their saws?

    Three calls to Sawstop and I still have a practically brand new saw that does not work. I wonder what Sawstop does in cases where the customer does not have electrical meters or the other tools or the skill to perform the tests that they have requested. [You have not lived until you have to remove the arbor sensor from a Sawstop saw why sprawled out on a concrete floor in a chilly garage.] The relay test is done on a live 240V circuit. While I am used to doing that sort of thing, all it would take is one slip to receive a pretty harsh jolt of electricity.

    If you buy a $250 washing machine and it quits working within the warranty period, the manufacturer - Maytag, Samsung, Bosch, etc.. will send a service tech to you home to fix it. But if your $3,000+ Sawstop table saw develops a fault, there are no service techs coming to your home to fix it.

    This is not your grandfather's table saw. If this were a Jet, Grizzly, or Powermatic table saw, I could sort out the fault in very short order. Because of the computer-connected sensors on the Sawstop tool, it is very difficult to tell what is causing the fault. It also appears that Sawstops self-diagnostic software and sensors are not able to perform a diagnostic that can isolate the location of the problem.

    This is incredibly discouraging.

    I'm going to fair to Sawstop and give them some more time to fix the problem. I talked to my credit card company today and they said that I still have some time to let the merchant and the manufacturer fix the problem before the window to dispute the sale closes. I hope it does not go that far, but I have no intention of letting this go on for a lot longer.

    Pete
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  2. The following 4 users say Thank You to petebucy4638 :


  3. #2
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    woodworker2000's Avatar
    Nickname
    Christopher
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    681
    Visit Freq
    6.04 visits/week
    Threads
    80
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I understand your frustration. If you had wanted to fix it yourself, you would have bought it used without a warranty. For the price of that saw, I'm a bit surprised they don't require the retailer (or someone) to provide some basic diagnostic services.

  4. The following 2 users say Thank You to woodworker2000 :


  5. #3
    Senior User
    Nickname
    Jeff
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rougemont, NC
    Posts
    6,640
    Visit Freq
    6.96 visits/week
    Threads
    585
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    They should send a technician to your shop in Denver to diagnose/fix it at no charge to you! You may have to be insistent and/or contact SawStop management.

  6. #4
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    The saw has an extensive list of faults that it can diagnose. In my case the primary diagnostic code says that I am trying to cut lumber that is too wet. What does not make any sense is that it generates this code as I try to start the saw with no lumber, wet or dry, anywhere near the saw blade. The saws computer receives information from the arbor sensor and the brake, as best as I can tell. It causes the same problem with either the standard brake for a 10" blade or the brake for an 8" dado blade, so I'm thinking that the fault is not the brake.

    Pete

    Quote Originally Posted by woodworker2000 View Post
    I understand your frustration. If you had wanted to fix it yourself, you would have bought it used without a warranty. For the price of that saw, I'm a bit surprised they don't require the retailer (or someone) to provide some basic diagnostic services.
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  7. #5
    User
    Nickname
    jeff
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chesterfield, SC
    Posts
    25
    Visit Freq
    2.88 visits/week
    Threads
    2
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I can remember buying a Honda 4-wheeler many years ago from what was then Honda of Rockingham, a couple of days later the trans shifter stopped working for some reason and I took it back to the dealer. They tried to shift it into gear and when it did not work they just gave me another brand new one, no questions asked. Service like that is hard to find. Too bad Saw Stop doesn't have that good of service. Someone said on another thread that Festool had bought Saw Stop. Is that true?

  8. #6
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I don't mind making swapping out a switch or even changing a relay or something like that. But in this case, three phone calls to Sawstop tech support have no gotten the saw running. I agree, it is time for them to send a tech and get this sorted out.

    I'm a general contractor who has built homes for the last 30+ years. If a customer calls me at night and says that his HVAC isn't working. The most that I'm going to ask him to do is to check to see if a breaker has tripped. There is no way that I'm going to ask him to start fiddling with the internals of the equipment. He can expect to see a service tech at him home the next day, if not sooner. And Sawstop has a much bigger budget for service repairs that I do.

    Pete

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
    They should send a technician to your shop in Denver to diagnose/fix it at no charge to you!
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  9. The following user says Thank You to petebucy4638 for this useful post:


  10. #7
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I heard that Festool bought Sawstop too.

    Pete

    Quote Originally Posted by cfield60 View Post
    I can remember buying a Honda 4-wheeler many years ago from what was then Honda of Rockingham, a couple of days later the trans shifter stopped working for some reason and I took it back to the dealer. They tried to shift it into gear and when it did not work they just gave me another brand new one, no questions asked. Service like that is hard to find. Too bad Saw Stop doesn't have that good of service. Someone said on another thread that Festool had bought Saw Stop. Is that true?
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  11. #8
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    tarheelz's Avatar
    Nickname
    Dave (45)
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    896
    Visit Freq
    5.85 visits/week
    Threads
    58
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I think we've had other posts over the years where SawStop has sent someone out.

    I hate that you're having this problem.

    PS - The only error I ever get is when I mistakenly fail to pull the paddle out crisply. Ugh. User error is frustrating too.

  12. #9
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I bought the saw in November. It worked great until it started having the startup faults. I think that Sawstop makes good machinery; I just managed to get one with a fault that is proving very difficult to diagnose.


    Pete

    Quote Originally Posted by tarheelz View Post
    I think we've had other posts over the years where SawStop has sent someone out.

    I hate that you're having this problem.

    PS - The only error I ever get is when I mistakenly fail to pull the paddle out crisply. Ugh. User error is frustrating too.
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  13. #10
    Board of Directors
    Events Director
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    Berta's Avatar
    Nickname
    Roberta
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cameron, NC
    Posts
    2,835
    Visit Freq
    6.85 visits/week
    Threads
    273
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    As a SawStop owner I agree that this is getting ridiculous. Do you have a Twitter account?
    Berta

  14. #11
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I have a Twitter account, but I only rarely use it.

    Pete

    Quote Originally Posted by Berta View Post
    As a SawStop owner I agree that this is getting ridiculous. Do you have a Twitter account?
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  15. #12
    Board of Directors
    Events Director
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    Berta's Avatar
    Nickname
    Roberta
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cameron, NC
    Posts
    2,835
    Visit Freq
    6.85 visits/week
    Threads
    273
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I don’t either, but when my friends van caught fire, in the driveway, at night, not running, I posted a picture, short comment and a hashtag with the brand name...things were resolved quickly. Just sayin’
    Berta

  16. #13
    Administrator Corporate Member
    DQ

    Nickname
    Neal (57)
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    424
    Visit Freq
    9.38 visits/week
    Threads
    36
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    #SawStopped has a nice ring to it...

  17. #14
    User
    DQ
    petebucy4638's Avatar
    Nickname
    Pete
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, NC
    Posts
    431
    Visit Freq
    2.04 visits/week
    Threads
    32
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    I'm going to give them a chance to fix it, but I'm not going to wait much longer. If that does not happen, I can file a dispute with my credit card provider which will compel the acceptable repair of the saw or it can be changed back. I have only had to do that a couple of times, but I found it to be very effective when the manufacturer or merchant would not stand behind their product.

    Pete

    Quote Originally Posted by Berta View Post
    I don’t either, but when my friends van caught fire, in the driveway, at night, not running, I posted a picture, short comment and a hashtag with the brand name...things were resolved quickly. Just sayin’
    Pete - KD4CQZ

  18. The following 3 users say Thank You to petebucy4638 :


  19. #15
    Senior User
    DQ
    redknife's Avatar
    Nickname
    Chris
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Mocksville, NC
    Posts
    923
    Visit Freq
    6.77 visits/week
    Threads
    78
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Sawstop - stil stopped

    Well that is all very frustrating. Hope that this resolves soon for you.

Similar Threads

  1. UPS stopped by today :)
    By MarkE in forum User Announcements
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 09:19 PM
  2. Brown Truck stopped by
    By PChristy in forum Woodturning
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 07:42 PM
  3. I stopped by Kyle's place and . . .
    By PeteM in forum Wood
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 08:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •