Klingspor's Woodworking Shop (Locations)

Special Events in the next 30 days

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 81

Thread: Workshop wiring

  1. #61
    Senior User
    DQ
    redknife's Avatar
    Nickname
    Chris
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Lewisville, NC
    Posts
    700
    Visit Freq
    7.04 visits/week
    Threads
    68
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by Brogan View Post
    Unfortunately the builder won't put a sub panel in - they just weren't interested as it's not something they typically do.

    So I opted for 2 x 240V 20A and 2 x 120V 20A, with 10 AWG wire, so I can upgrade to 30A if I need to later.

    I shouldn't need to run more than two 120V or two 240V tools at once so hopefully I won't regret it later on (famous last words).
    Sounds like a solid plan.

  2. #62
    Board of Directors
    Development Director
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    Jeremy Scuteri's Avatar
    Nickname
    Jeremy (36)
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge, NC
    Posts
    3,101
    Visit Freq
    6.35 visits/week
    Threads
    238
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by jlwest View Post
    It is my understanding that only one 220v outlet can be on a circuit per code but you could do it if you can limit the amperage of the machines and hardware or up the breaker amperage and wire size. It is usually the amperage that restricts how many outlets you have on a circuit versus voltage.
    I passed inspection with multiple 220v outlets on a single breaker. Do you have any sources for this rule?

  3. #63
    User Brogan's Avatar
    Nickname
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    308
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    21
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    I believe it's specific to running motors on the circuit, as there's nothing in the code explicitly prohibiting multiple outlets on a 240V 20A branch circuit.

    Take a look at section 430 of the NEC.

  4. The following user says Thank You to Brogan for this useful post:


  5. #64
    User Brogan's Avatar
    Nickname
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    308
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    21
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Sigh ...

    Checked the house today and although the builder has added the 2 x 120 and 2 x 240 outlets, they haven't used the correct gauge wire for the 120 circuits, so I won't be able to upgrade them to 30A in the future, should I need/want to.



    I'm meeting with them tomorrow for the 'pre-drywall walk through' so I'll get them to change that.


    I'm glad I got the builder to do it though - the breaker panel is not in the place where I was led to believe it would be - it is on the far side of the garage on the opposite wall, which would have been a lot more work to do it myself after closing.

    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #65
    Senior User
    Nickname
    Jeff
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rougemont, NC
    Posts
    5,330
    Visit Freq
    6.69 visits/week
    Threads
    525
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Maybe I'm being picky and grumpy but your builder doesn't seem to understand customer designated specifications (and the why of it) to pass along to the subs.

    "Mr. Brogan, all of our work is prix fixe and no substitutions are allowed so your odd-ball wiring spec for future upgrading is a pipe dream!"

  7. #66
    User Brogan's Avatar
    Nickname
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    308
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    21
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    There is definitely a lack of good project and construction management.

    I tell the PM one thing, and end up with something different.

  8. #67
    Board of Directors
    Development Director
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    Jeremy Scuteri's Avatar
    Nickname
    Jeremy (36)
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge, NC
    Posts
    3,101
    Visit Freq
    6.35 visits/week
    Threads
    238
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    If it was me (and I had proof of what I asked for), that work would be redone to my specifications or I would not be paying for it. It is helpful to put any communications in an e-mail to have a record when this sort of thing happens.

  9. #68
    User TENdriver's Avatar
    Nickname
    TENdriver
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Wdbg, VA
    Posts
    329
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    12
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Well, I wouldn't tear it out now! That costs more money to remove it. Have them put the spec wiring in next to or nearby if your panel can take more circuits.

  10. #69
    User Brogan's Avatar
    Nickname
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    308
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    21
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    It won't cost me anything (more) - it's the builder's mistake so they have to rectify it.

    And yes, it's all on email - which is the reason why I always use email and not the phone.

    All they have to do is replace the 120 circuit wire with 10 gauge.

  11. #70
    Board of Directors
    Development Director
    Corporate Member
    DQ
    Jeremy Scuteri's Avatar
    Nickname
    Jeremy (36)
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge, NC
    Posts
    3,101
    Visit Freq
    6.35 visits/week
    Threads
    238
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by Brogan View Post
    It won't cost me anything (more) - it's the builder's mistake so they have to rectify it.

    And yes, it's all on email - which is the reason why I always use email and not the phone.

    All they have to do is replace the 120 circuit wire with 10 gauge.
    120 or 240 replaced with 10 gauge? Don't see much value in a 30A 120v circuit.

  12. #71
    Newbie
    Nickname
    Neal (56)
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    26
    Visit Freq
    7.23 visits/week
    Threads
    5
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    it won't pass inspection if you have 12G wire and 30A receptacles or circuit breakers. All components have to be rated the same current capacity.

  13. #72
    Senior User
    DQ

    Nickname
    Dave
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    700
    Visit Freq
    6.19 visits/week
    Threads
    17
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    It looks like your builder is Toll Brothers. They like to do things their way.
    One value of using #10 is with some tape remarking the white wire you can then have a 30a 220 circuit.

    BTW, my money says they will not change out the #12 for #10. Won't matter what you have in writing.
    Lastly, I hope those 2x4s for the panel bumpout are at least sitting on a pressure treated sole plate

  14. The following user says Thank You to DaveD for this useful post:


  15. #73
    User Brogan's Avatar
    Nickname
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    308
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    21
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveD View Post
    One value of using #10 is with some tape remarking the white wire you can then have a 30a 220 circuit.
    Yes, that's one of the reasons - it allows for total flexibility.


    BTW, my money says they will not change out the #12 for #10. Won't matter what you have in writing.
    They said they would earlier today, let's see what happens.

    Lastly, I hope those 2x4s for the panel bumpout are at least sitting on a pressure treated sole plate
    I think they are but I'll double check at the weekend the next time I'm on site.

  16. #74
    User Brogan's Avatar
    Nickname
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    308
    Visit Freq
    7.00 visits/week
    Threads
    21
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by bowman View Post
    it won't pass inspection if you have 12G wire and 30A receptacles or circuit breakers. All components have to be rated the same current capacity.
    The wire can be rated higher than the breakers and the outlets (just not the other way around).

  17. The following 2 users say Thank You to Brogan :


  18. #75
    Senior User
    Nickname
    Chris
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Mc Leansville, NC
    Posts
    1,535
    Visit Freq
    3.81 visits/week
    Threads
    59
    Classifieds
    0

    Re: Workshop wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by Brogan View Post
    Sigh ...

    Checked the house today and although the builder has added the 2 x 120 and 2 x 240 outlets, they haven't used the correct gauge wire for the 120 circuits, so I won't be able to upgrade them to 30A in the future, should I need/want to.



    I'm meeting with them tomorrow for the 'pre-drywall walk through' so I'll get them to change that.


    I'm glad I got the builder to do it though - the breaker panel is not in the place where I was led to believe it would be - it is on the far side of the garage on the opposite wall, which would have been a lot more work to do it myself after closing.

    On a seperate note, is this how they install headers today?

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring help
    By Natelyon in forum Power Tools and Their Use
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-15-2015, 11:34 PM
  2. Workshop sound wiring
    By Phil S in forum Workshop Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 09:31 PM
  3. Wiring a workshop
    By manfre in forum Workshop Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 01:11 PM
  4. The mechanical side of wiring the workshop
    By Bas in forum Workshop Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-29-2009, 10:36 PM
  5. Workshop Wiring
    By rick7938 in forum Workshop Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-29-2007, 09:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •