Wood Source for Beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

rick7938

New User
Rick
I am a relative beginner to the woodworking field. My neighbor had been helping me get started and had provided some nice wood from his stock, but he has gotten out of woodworking because of his health and his wood stock is gone.

I am looking for a wood resource in the Fayetteville/Raleigh area that can be helpful to me in selecting and figuring quantities of wood for projects until I feel comfortable in doing it myself. In looking at the list on this website I see a few sites such as Raleigh Hardwood Center, American Woodyards in Raleigh, East Wake Hardwood in Zebulon, Jackson International in Fuquay Varina, Just Hardwood in Dunn, and the Hardwood Man in Angier.

What has been your experience with these stores? I am looking for a place that is open during the week since I have to go when my job allows. I am also looking for a place that is beginner-friendly who is willing to spend a few minutes with me helping me select wood and figuring how much I need.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

clowman

Clay Lowman
Corporate Member
In my experience, American Woodyards is very hit and miss.
East Wake HWs.. great selection, and good people.

I can't speak to any of the others.
I'd also recommend Jeff in one of his Raleigh Lumber runs if you are able to go to Raleigh. I haven't heard a single bad word from any of the sawyers on this board.
Check out this link. I think that some of our local sawyers have checked into this thread. If you are a beginner, they'll likely be glad to help you along.

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
Clay - is American Woodyards still in business ? I thought they'd gotten out of retail in..2005 ?

Raleigh Hardwoods is a good place to shop but very expensive relative to other options.