What materials should I be purchasing for my project?

jbush2000

New User
Mike
Hey everybody, I'm new here, forgive me if this post isn't formatted correctly or even in the right place!

I just started working on designing a Bluetooth portable speaker enclosure for a summer project. I am really new with woodworking and I was wondering if anybody here could help me figure out what materials to buy, where to purchase etc. Currently I have the enclosure designed with 1"x1" actual dim. beams for the frame, and 1/8" thickness sheet material. I want the box to be somewhat durable (for going camping, tailgating etc.) but also I'd really like to keep the material budget under $100 (excluding the electronic components of course) I have attached a few rough renderings of what I have so far here.

I also would love some advice on the joint where the front and top frame members meet (I included a high contrast render so you can see the current plan for the joint). I have access to a pretty good range of machines at my college as well as at home, so feel free to come up with whatever solutions you can think of. If anyone would like CAD files I'd be happy to send them as STL files.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
My limited experience with speaker enclosures indicates 1/8 inch thick sheet material will be too thin to support and dampen the vibrations of the speakers. The box will buzz when bass notes are played. I would use 3/4 inch plywood or solid wood throughout.

Rwe2156

DrBob
Senior User
Looks like a well thought out design. I think it will work fine for a blue tooth speaker.

The joinery looks fine to me. You could make it simpler by doing an angled butt joint.

On the front, I would the angle either the face or top/bottom to match the plane in order to have a glue surface for the ply.

I would use 3/4 X 3/4 stock. Screw & glue them together.

Attach ply to frames with glue.

Jeff

New User
Jeff
Welcome to NCWW Mike.