What I've been working on lately

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisC

New User
Christopher Cain
I've been remodeling my house for the last several months, and I pretty much finished up the bathrooms today.

I built an oak vanity and wall cabinet for one bathroom. I thought about putting a Corian top on the vanity, but the wife liked a piece of laminate I already had, so I used that instead. All I have left for the vanity is to put down the shoe moulding.

11-12-20053.JPG

11-12-20055.JPG

11-12-20054.JPG

I made a Poplar wall cabinet for the other bathroom (that has a pedestal type vanity) and painted that one white.

11-12-20059.JPG

I used Blum clip hinges, with face frame mounting plates on all the doors.

11-12-200510.JPG

I made all the raised panel doors. I plan on remodeling the kitchen next year.

Steve D

Steve DeWeese
Nice work, that looks terrific. I think your ready for the kitchen based on what I see here.

Monty

New User
Monty
Well done! Looks like you're ready to tackle the kitchen! :icon_thum

Did you make that mirror frame, too ? (next to the poplar cabinet)

ChrisC

New User
Christopher Cain
Thanks for the kind words fellas.

I was a professional cabinetmaker for 11 1/2 yrs, started while I was still in high school. I SURE miss cabinetmaking. I do some "side work" here and there for some former customers. The two shops I worked at, did very highend custom work, and I feel very forunate to have learned my trade while I was so young from some very old craftsman. All of the "old guys" I use to work with are dead now. But, I'll always remember what they taught me.

No matter what I do the rest of my life, I'll always consider myself a cabinetmaker. Once you get sawdust in your blood, I guess you can't get it out.

Last edited:

ChrisC

New User
Christopher Cain
insomniac said:
Well done! Looks like you're ready to tackle the kitchen! :icon_thum

Did you make that mirror frame, too ? (next to the poplar cabinet)