Stall mat under power tools???

Status
Not open for further replies.

petebucy4638

Pete
Corporate Member
Farm supply stores carry a product called "stall mat." As its name suggests, it is used in animal stalls. It's about 3'4" thick, some thinner, and made of a very dense and nearly indestructible rubber compound. As a builder, I used to put stall made under washing machines that were in wood framed laundry rooms. Stall mat is very good at absorbing vibrations and noise. When talking to an out-of-state friend about my new Sawstop cabinet saw, he suggested that I place the machine on stall mat. He said that he has been using for for years under his cabinet saw, shaper, planer, and jointer. He claims that it reduces noise, even on a concrete floor, and helps to level out any minor imperfections in the floor that can cause machinery to wobble. He claims that the mat reduces vibration producing better cuts too.

Have any of you used stall mat or a similar product under your cabinet saws or other woodworking machinery? If so, how did it perform?

Pete

sawman101

Bruce Swanson
Corporate Member
I put a scroll saw on a thick floor mat. It did absorb vibration and make for quieter running. I wood recommend the stall mats, as long as they are not a tripping hazard in your shop.

old-delta

Wes
Senior User
Great Idea. I never thought of that mainly due to all my machines being on mobile bases. I have a concrete floor but it sounds plausible. I bet they may work well to use at the lathe.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
My whole shop floor is covered with stall mats. Much easier on the feet and back and chisels don’t get hurt when dropped.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Tools, bench, sawdust, everything. Only wish I had glued the edges down and together.
Maybe will move everything out and redo at some point. And wheels roll just fine.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
How else you get three projects done at once if you don’t juggle tools?