Resaw help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan Bowman

New User
Dan Bowman
I'm bidding on a piece of maple on eBay which, if I win, I want to resaw. Problem is, the piece is about 9" wide and my little Griz can only resaw 6" max, and it complains about that. Can anyone in the Raleigh area help with this? I'm hoping to upgrade my saw, so I'd also love to learn from any resaw experts out there. Thanks!

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I'm not an expert, but I do have a saw capable of resawing it. I don't think my saw will complain about it.

I live in Northern Wake County.

merrill77

Master Scrap Maker
Chris
My BS has 10" resaw. I've been played with resawing a few times since I got it in Feb and have had reasonably good results. But so far have I not attempted anything over 4-5". I'd be happy to help you out...though I would suggest bringing some 9" wide scraps to practice on. :>

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
Am I doing my math right? I am coming up with well over $100/BFT. It is pretty wood, but...

Mt. Gomer

New User
Travis
Yeah, but when you're talking tonewoods for guitars or special tops for solidbody guitars the prices just go up and up. I can't tell you why, just that they do....

CarvedTones

Andy
Yeah, but when you're talking tonewoods for guitars or special tops for solidbody guitars the prices just go up and up. I can't tell you why, just that they do....