Resaw and planing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

N00B

New User
Jeff
Hi Everyone!
I am a newbie woodworker on my second project. I am taking on a desktop humidor to give to my brother for his birthday (early March). I am following the free plan from Fine Woodworking Magazine here: http://www.taunton.com/finewoodworking/FWNPDFfree/humidor.pdf A friend a work suggested I post a request for help here. I picked up some rough cut Spanish Cedar that I need to have recut and planed to different thicknesses. Out of the ~13" wide 6/4 board, I need: 3.5' x 9/16" x 5", 3.5' x 3/16" x 3", and 2' x 3/16" x 8". Is there anyone in close proximity to High Point with a large enough band saw and a planer or >8" joiner that would be willing to help me out?

Actually, let me take a step back...what is the best way to get the lumber i need from the boards I have?
Should I try to recut on my friend's saw mill?

Thanks,
Jeff

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
How long is the board?

I would go with a bandsaw, I think a sawmill will take out more in the kerf.

danmart77

Dan
Corporate Member
Jeff
This is basic resaw work on a bandsaw. From the dimensions you gave and the wood you are using it can be done easily on a smaller bandsaw with a resaw blade. Maybe someone is close to you??

From 6/4 stock you can resaw a little oversize and plane to specs.

Dan

N00B

New User
Jeff
Correction on the dimensions: 5/4, 11.25" wide and 6.5' long (but there's a 6" crack down the middle of one end)

N00B

New User
Jeff
Thanks for the quick responses and advice everyone.

Is there anyone near High Point with an appropriately sized bandsaw + resaw blade that would be willing to resaw this for me? I also need a planer that could plane my boards for me? Just private message fee and availability, please.

Jeff

ehpoole

Administrator
Ethan