Raleigh or Charlotte for a shop?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TMDavid1

New User
Tim
Hello! I am new to the NCwoodworker group and really look forward to becomign part of what looks like a great organization. I am currently in the process of moving my shop from New York to NC and could use some of my future neighbors help in determining which may be the better move.

I have heard great things about both areas (Raleigh and Charlotte). We are a company who supplies reception desks and medical/dental exam rooms for doctors all over the nation and most of our work is in laminates.
Which would be a better location for labor and suppliers of laminates and flake/ Melamine panels? We also do some higher end work, but 90-95% of the work is in laminates.

Any feedback would be GREATLY appreciated :)

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member
Neither. Check out the High Point, Thomasville, Lexington, Hickory and Lenoir areas. We used to make millions of tons of furniture/year in these places. The infrastructure is still there. The skilled workforce is waiting on you to call. Space is cheap.

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
Neither. Check out the High Point, Thomasville, Lexington, Hickory and Lenoir areas. We used to make millions of tons of furniture/year in these places. The infrastructure is still there. The skilled workforce is waiting on you to call. Space is cheap.

Agree, but also wanted to note that Greensboro, High Point and Winston Salem are collectively "the Triad" and have an international airport and between them have many of the things you might be looking for in considering the larger cities. Charlotte is really our only big city; mostly we have regions like RDU and the Triad with a few medium size cities close to each other.

JCraig

New User
Jerry