Questions about building a Workbench top

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guy in Paradise

New User
Guy Belleman
Hi all,

I am a teacher and traveling to my Virginia mountain vacation home this weekend to stay for the summer, and I got it in my head to build a woodworking bench. After two months of research, I think I am settling on a bench that is a combination of Christopher Schwarz's Roubo workbench (Woodworking magazine Autumn 2005 and Popular Woodworking June 2007) and Cliff's bench (at www.user.dccnet.com/cedwards/bench/bench.htm). I already purchased the vises and the major tools for the job, but most of my tools remain here in Cuba, even though I can still throw one in the suit case if need be.

The major decisions I am still trying to resolve is whether to build the top or buy one? Second, if I make the top, what to make it out of? And third, what size should it be?

Many of the top builders glue and plane the top in sections and then biscuit the sections together. One builder dowels each board so that the boards will remain aligned during glue-up. The school shop teacher says to just nail the boards in the middle to ensure reasonable alignment, to not get a warped fan look. Some slabs I see even have metal rods going through the width. It seems that warping during glue-up is a concern. So, wanting a flat top when I get done, I am a little concerned about whether I should attempt to build a top or buy one. I do have a good router and have considered routing the top with a track and sled arrangement that others have done. I figure my top will be about 40 to 45 board feet, so materials could be any from $100 to $400 before gluing. Perfect bench (www.perfectplank.com) sells almost what I want in maple, 2 7/8" thick x 25" x 8' for $334. So what should I do, make or buy?