Q&A - Science Behind Wood Coatings

jfynyson

Jeremy
User
Hey,
If you're like me and have been very confused or overwhelmed when trying to first learn about/understand wood coatings then know that I have a great opportunity coming my way next week (1/23/2020). I'll be having lunch with someone that is an expert the wood coatings industry and can explain the science behind it. He'll be there to answer any questions I have as a courtesy. I'm a scientist and love to try and grasp what's actually going on in different wood finishing formulations. Why certain solvents, resins, etc are used and why others are not used in certain situations.

I took the time a couple years ago to lay out in more clear terms (bullet pt format) to help me visual the differences, benefits, and trade offs of different types of top coat/finish. Sure, there are tons of books and other tutorials on this topic that one could look up but I just wanted it all in one easy/quick guide visual format. This up coming meeting will be for me to understand what I've not easily found in my brief non-exhaustive research.

My Ask To You
  • I would like to take any questions you would like to know about any wood coatings to this meeting and get answers to your curious questions if possible. So, post to this thread between now and 1/23/2020 and I'll see if he has the answers to our questions. I'll post the answers back on this thread once completed (assuming we get answers to all of them).

Thanks,
Jeremy Finison

Willemjm

Willem
Corporate Member
Thanks Jeremy.

My question:

How many professional shops have switched to water based coatings?

I have ventured that way many times, but simply cannot afford the extra time it takes to wait for drying between coats, the more difficult scuff sanding of the first coat and the care one has to take with laying down correct film thickness without experiencing micro bubbles.