Practice handsaw cuts

Status
Not open for further replies.

jarrett

New User
Jarrett
For those of you that didn't see my earlier thread:
http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/f30/starting-out-hand-saws-21815/

I'm new to handsawing, and after reading some advice and reviews, I ended up getting the Veritas Dovetail saw. I don't really have a reference point to compare it except for my cheapo hand mitre saw, which just gives me trouble and fuzzy wood. Hopefully, getting together with others here and learning to sharpen it will help that along.

Either way, with this new saw, I feel that I can truly only blame myself for anything that didn't go right, and not the equipment! It's a great saw, I'm happy I went with it, and now I can concentrate on technique instead of looking at the power tools section for a replacement :)

My plan is to go easy and just start with making straight cuts. I drew a bunch of lines down a cheap piece of wood, and starting cutting on them. Well, "around" them, but now the saying "cut on the waste side" is ingrained in me. After a while, I decided to try and turn these cuts into a finger joint, to see how I was doing.

I think the toughest part at first was figuring out the right angle to start the cuts on. Once I got that, my strokes were a lot smoother, and my lines became straighter too. Another learned lesson was about using my thumb as a guide when I was pulling back my starter line. I finally noticed this while watching an episode of The Woodwrights Shop, and it made the difference if my line was a 90 degree cut or if it turned out to be an unintentional dovetail! Starting the cuts out right seems to be the important part here. After that was taken care of, I was pretty relieved at how easy it was to maintain the line--the backsaw basically takes care of itself once the groove is set.