Portable sawmill in Chapel Hill area?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrianInChatham

New User
Brian
Hi folks- I'm relatively new to woodworking (but am ambitious!) and also new to the area. Now that I live somewhere with trees (don't find too many where I lived in Phoenix!) I've been having these great ideas about having some of the oak on my land milled into lumber for all the household projects I have in mind. Unfortunately I am a complete novice in this realm. I've been reading on this forum and online for the last few days, and so far the biggest lesson I've learned is that I have an awful lot to learn...

My immediate concern: between all the rain and yesterday's winds there's a big oak tree that's started to go over and it's going to take out the power box to my street if it does. I've got a call into the power company (who were surprisingly unconcerned) and they're going to send someone out to look at it in the next few days. One way or another it's going to have to come down very soon, and if I have rights to it (it's on my land but is on an easement so not sure how that works) I'd like to have some lumber milled out of it.

So- I'm trying to figure out if this is realistic and\or worthwhile. I know this is a very open ended topic and there is no "right" answer- I'm just hoping for a little guidance. The tree is question has a crotch about 4 feet from the base, splitting into two trunks each maybe 18" in diameter (just a rough guess). The base has rotted out at the base of one of the trunks (a big crack about 1"x24" appeared in the rotted area during yesterdays winds, and a 3\8"x24" crack appeared in the ground about 2' uphill\upwind of the tree), but it only appears to go up 4' or so. The trunks after the crotch are quite straight and have few branches until much higher up.