Popular Woodworking Stepladder

joec

joe
User
I am building the stepladder that was shown in a spring issue of Popular Woodworking. I have almost finished it and it calls for a leather strap on each side to be the angle restraint. One one side of the folding step ladder. I have never worked with leather before and do not know where to find it, cut it etc. I guess I will try hobby lobby. Anyone with any experience with leather? It is attached with small nails or anything that i like. Decorative brass nails would work.

danmart77

Dan
Corporate Member
I am building the stepladder that was shown in a spring issue of Popular Woodworking. I have almost finished it and it calls for a leather strap on each side to be the angle restraint. One one side of the folding step ladder. I have never worked with leather before and do not know where to find it, cut it etc. I guess I will try hobby lobby. Anyone with any experience with leather? It is attached with small nails or anything that i like. Decorative brass nails would work.
Maybe a photo?

nn4jw

New User
Jim
I usually get leather from either Tandy or Zack White. Unfortunately they are in Raleigh and Ramseur so pretty far from Wilmington. That said, I suggest oval head screws and countersunk finish washers to attach the leather straps to the wood ladder. Less chance of tearing through the leather.

An alternative source for making leather straps would be heavier work belts or old style weight lifting belts.

Good luck with your search.

cmboggs

Chris
User
Oddly enough a good source of leather are jackets and purses from consignment shops. You can get a TON of leather just from one jacket. The same goes for old belts.

joec

joe
User
Maybe a photo?

Jeff

New User
Jeff
You could probably use a couple of old leather belts. The plan says that each strap is 18" l x 1.25"w.