Please help me ID this Craftsman hand plane

Status
Not open for further replies.

kooshball

David
Corporate Member
I have ZERO experience with hand planes but I found this in my father's garage and I would like to get it up and running. It is 14" long x 2.5" wide and the base is perfectly flat and true. There are few markings on it other than "CRAFTSMAN" and "MADE IN THE USA". The chipper and blade are in terrible condition so I would like to ID this plane to get a suitable set put in it.

If anyone can tell me what type of plane this is, and how to specify the chipper and blade I would be grateful. (the photos are terrible so let me know if I need to take better ones)

Thanks
craftsman_plane_1.JPG

craftsman_plane_2.JPG

mshel

New User
Michael Shelley
Probably made by Sargent for Craftsman. This is equlivent to a Stanley #5 jack plane. Post a pic of the blade and chip breaker. It may be salvageable or not. Lots of blades and chip breakers available for this size. There may be someone here who has the parts you need. Post a "Wanted" in the Classifieds section.

HTH

Mike

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell
I'll second the Sargent or possibly Millers Falls. The Red Frog make me lean towards Millers Falls, but hard to say.

You replace the chip breaker and iron by width. In the case of Hock irons, thickness can be in issue. Hock makes (IMHO), the bee's knees of irons and chip breakers. You can always email him if you need to be sure. The issue is the depth adjuster. If your chip breaker + iron are too thick, the depth adjuster thingy won't reach the slot in the chip breaker.

Yes, there are some ways to get around this, but I'd not bother for a #5.

You can also go with Pinnacle (Woodcraft line) and Lie-Nielsen too. Their irons/chip breakers are more inline with the thickness of the normal #5.

As a #5, I'd not put a lot of money into it. Its a roughing tool, not meant for precision work.