Oxygen in the Shop?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RayH

New User
Ray
Having lost a major bout with pneumonia, I will be on supplemental oxygen for the foreseeable future. Does anyone have any experience with dealing with this in the shop? Specifically, does anyone know of a good respirator that allows an oxygen input? I need to find a way to keep the dust out while allowing the O2 to get in along with very filtered air.

As it now stands, my shop time is pretty much limited to reapplying wax to cast iron surfaces and inventorying screws.:gar-Cr

Any help available?

TIA
Ray

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
Very sorry to hear about your illness, Ray. Hope you have it under control.
I can't recommend an air shield, but hopefully someone will be able to help.

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member
Ray,
I'm sorry you've had to deal with an illness and glad you survived! Hope it's temporary. I used to be a Respiratory Therapist in a former life so I'll give you my 2 pennies. I'm assuming you're on nasal oxygen. There's not a good way to create a dust proof seal with a standard respirator/dust mask type system and the oxygen tubing. Those types of masks also create a lot of extra work which would not be fun if you were already having a rough time breathing. The powered air purifying respirator systems like this:
41AGqMNq7kL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/DEAL-Q4-Airshield-Battery-Cradle/dp/B002Q0Y5B2/ref=pd_cp_hi_1 would be the best for your situation but they're not cheap. You would be supplied with clean air to breathe normally, it would not interfere with your oxygen cannula and your tubing would not interfere with it. Your eyes would also be protected:icon_thum. I've had no experience with this particular mask. The versions we use in hospitals cost 4 times as much. Keep in mind that these are not organic vapor respirators...but you need to stay far, far away from organic vapors.
Very important!!!!