Oil based spar urethane over water based spar urethane

Status
Not open for further replies.

davidbogg

New User
David
Hello all. I am very new to wood finishing. Recently I had fresh cypress garage doors installed and we finished them with two coats of water based spar urethane. We were hoping to get that warm glow that we have on our front doors; however, I just learned that water based spar urethane only gives a clear coat and not the amber affect that an oil based spar urethane gives.

I am thinking of putting a few coats of oil based spar urethane over the water based spar urethane. The water based spar urethane has cured for about 2 weeks so far. Will this work to be able to get the desired look? Or will the layer of water based spar urethane keep the oil based product from interacting with the wood?

Would it be best to try and strip the water based spar urethane off first and then recoat the cypress doors with the oil based spar urethane to be able to have the oil nature of the product best react with the wood? (does the oil actually interact with the wood?)

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
I'll respond to this, but hopefully Howard Acheson (our resident finishing expert) will chime in as well. I trust his opinion more than my own.

Assuming the water based urethane is completely dried, you should be okay to go over it w/ an oil based urethane. Once the carrier (water) evaporates, the urethane is pretty much the same as any urethane. The reverse, however, is not true: you can't put a water based urethane over an oil based urethane.

A couple of things I would consider first: given the high humidity in Florida, I might wait longer than 2 weeks for the spar urethane to completely dry. Second, you might want to lightly scuff the surface w/ sandpaper to improve the adhesion of the next coat.

Bill

davidbogg

New User
David