New Scroller... any info on learning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbeach

New User
Mike
I am getting a scroll saw in the next week or so. I have never done this before and want to learn. Any websites? videos? books? etc. to learn from that people recommend?

Thanks

Mike

sawduster

New User
Robert
Rick has a really good site for getting your feet wet
http://www.scrollsaws.com/

I will be more than happy to help any way I can and we've got some dang good scrollers on this site :icon_thum

ooooooooooooo you're gonna love it !! :icon_cheers :banana:

PChristy

New User
Phillip
I am getting a scroll saw in the next week or so. I have never done this before and want to learn. Any websites? videos? books? etc. to learn from that people recommend?

Thanks

Mike

Hey Mike congrats on the new toyl - Pics you know we have got to have those pics - I don't live to far from you - just give me a holler and I will help you in anyway I can - I have alot of magz that you can look through to see if you want to try any of the patterns -

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
Practice, practice, practice...

Some things to remember:

1) Assuming you aren't using spiral blades (I don't care for them, but some folks I respect use them a lot), only the front edge where the teeth are can cut wood. This seems quite intuitive, but it seems instinctive to try to push the workpiece sideways sometimes. It doesn't work; I have tried several thousand times.

2) Most blades have a drift like bandsaws but usually worse. The natural tendency is to fight it by pushing sideways (see item 1). The better way is to keep orienting the workpiece so that the place you want to cut next will flow naturally into the blade. Feeding it diagonal is fine if that is how it wants to be fed; there is no fence and no jigs for most work and going to a bunch of trouble to try to get your blades drift free really doesn't gain anything.