Need some joint advice

JSJ

Jeff
Corporate Member
I am not that experienced in joinery nor the strengths of each type of joint, but I do know that end grain to end grain glue ups are weak. So I am making this table for my daughter in law from 2 1/2" thick x 15" wide poplar. The photos show miter joints on the two ends of the top, but I am not sure if that is going to be a strong joint. If I went that route, I would put 4 or 5 dominos in the joints prior to glue up. I would appreciate the favor of all of your ideas, as well as ideas/thoughts on changing the design a bit to make this thing a bit stronger. Here is a picture of the table:

IMG_4480.jpeg

Thanks in advance!!

Jeff

Martin Roper

Martin
Senior User
The photos show miter joints on the two ends of the top, but I am not sure if that is going to be a strong joint. If I went that route, I would put 4 or 5 dominos in the joints prior to glue up.
That's exactly what I would do. I think that will be plenty strong.

For your glue up, cut a couple spacer boards to length that would fit temporarily between the bottoms of the legs. That will form a rectangle and keep everything square in the clamps.

Last edited:

beloitdavisja

James
Corporate Member
A non-domino alternative if you don't mind some endgrain showing on the top: either dovetail or box joints would be strong as well. For dovetails, I'd make the vertical pieces the pins, and the horizontal the tails. If you want to hide the endgrain, you do either halfblind (where the tails show on the vertical sides), or hidden (full-blind) dovetails.

But the domino would be quick and easy :cool: I don't have one so I always like alternatives.

McRabbet

Rob
Corporate Member