Make Your Own Canister Filter for HF 2hp Dust Collector

Status
Not open for further replies.

rusty iron

New User
rusty
I know the Wynn canister filter helps efficiency of dust collectors but my budget is really tight as a one man shop that doesn't have a client base. My work is all family stuff no production. I restore furniture and build cabinets, and rocking horses for grandkids and etc. I recently purchased a Harbor Freight 2hp DC and want to make it as efficient as possible. So I organized a plan for doing this. This is my objective: To create six-sided /hexagonal wood disk and donut for assembling six 10x24x1" MARV13 filters. Will incorporate J channel for filter framework, silicone caulk and foil tape to seal it. My "on paper" total costs is $118.64 buying all materials new from Lowes and filter 6pk from filtersfast.com. Perhaps my first question should be: has anyone tried anything like this? I'm not an engineer but I do try to pre plan things and draw lots of diagrams. Any thoughts pro or con on this adventure? (My first ever post by a newbe)

ehpoole

Administrator
Ethan
I wish I could say I was especially optimistic but have some very real doubts as to performance and robustness versus the proper cartridge filter and whether the cost savings will actually be realized.

A typical DC cartridge filter has in excess of 100sq.ft. of filter surface area composed of deep closely spaced pleats. By comparison your filters will likely have somewhere in the 10s of sq.ft. of surface area. The DC filter is typically contained within a steel cage both to protect the filter as well as to help contain the filter material and prevent it from billowing outward (and possibly failing). The actual filter material is also typically quite heavy duty and will yield a long service life before failure and some can be washed a few times, if necessary, to extend their lifespan.