Lookikng for scroll saw folks

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveColes

Steve
Corporate Member
Well, it ain't me. I can barely use my bandsaw :saw: and if you look at my album, you'll see that I can't even drive a screw straight.

Come on people fess up, I know some of you at least own a scroll saw
cskipper said:
Who all does scroll saw stuff?

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Well, I want to, but I am just learning. I've got a subscription to Scrollworks magazine, which provides a lot of inspiration. I am mostly interested in Intarsia, I really have a love for the different colors that wood can come in, some call it a Purpleheart addiction, but I think of it as a good friendship. It is such a cool color, that changes with time like Cherry, how can you go wrong. Hope to gain some experience from others around here. Dave:)

R

rickc

I've done a little bit with the scroll saw. Couple examples in my gallery. Right now I am working on a set of the "curvy clocks" seen in the Meisal catalog. Experimenting with Olson spiral cut blades. Sort of interesting. Wider kerf, but it is kind of nice not having to worry about making small radius turns. Almost found it easier if I did NOT think about what I was doing and just followed the line! Anyway, probably more information than you wanted.

clowman

Clay Lowman
Corporate Member
I've thought about it a whole lot. Got some magazines, but every time I get ready to get a SS, I always stand in front of it, and say.. "Now.. would I use this more than a new _______" (insert tool here). Sadly, I still haven't gotten a SS.. Doesn't mean I don't wanna though

-clay

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Clay, it's OK, you will find a need for that scrollsaw and get it some day. Just keep thinking "I am good and I deserve a new tool" Positive affirmation is the way to go. You can talk yourself in to anything. Group hug anyone????????

Dave:)

cskipper

Cathy