Lathe Recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.

windknot

Scott
Senior User
I am looking at purchasing a mini or midi lathe but not sure what to buy. I have read all the online reviews and nearly all of them have a different top choice. I am an experienced woodworker but have not turned in 30 yrs so taking the Woodcraft 101 class is probably in the cards. I don't want to under buy but also don't need a large lathe filling up a corner. I have an interest in learning about turning bowls, Nantucket basket molds and possibly duck calls. Anyone have some recommendations?

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
Pick a price range and get one in that range. There no free lunch in lathe buys out there. The bigger, the better. All the cheapies are Asian-made. There are thousands of "I like mine just fine" testimonials out there from those that have a single sample experience.

Stuart Kent

Stuart
Senior User
I am looking at purchasing a mini or midi lathe but not sure what to buy. I have read all the online reviews and nearly all of them have a different top choice. I am an experienced woodworker but have not turned in 30 yrs so taking the Woodcraft 101 class is probably in the cards. I don't want to under buy but also don't need a large lathe filling up a corner. I have an interest in learning about turning bowls, Nantucket basket molds and possibly duck calls. Anyone have some recommendations?

you should join us for the NCFS Woodturners Club meeting this Saturday at 10:00 am. You can try out any of the lathes that we have, which include: Robust, Harvey, Rikon, Nova, Jet, & Delta

the North Carolina Furniture School
503 Second St.
Ayden, NC

TENdriver

New User
TENdriver
you should join us for the NCFS Woodturners Club meeting this Saturday at 10:00 am. You can try out any of the lathes that we have, which include: Robust, Harvey, Rikon, Nova, Jet, & Delta

the North Carolina Furniture School
503 Second St.
Ayden, NC