Kitchen reface experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

redknife

Chris
Corporate Member
Does anyone here have cabinet refacing experience to convey?
We have a house on the market and feedback has been that the kitchen is dated. The bones and layout are fine. We have arch top doors and honey oak finish which is said to date the kitchen. Considering options, DYI refacing being one. I wondered what experiences people have had with refacing?

Gilley23

New User
Bryan
Please post up a few pictures of your kitchen.

I've only seen one refacing join and it really made a big difference. New doors, hardware and all painted white is what I saw. Looked totally different!

JimD

Jim
Senior User
I have no experience to share but I would also suggest spraying the cabinets and doors white is probably the right path. Replacing door hinges if they are the older surface mount variety is also a good idea. Bar pulls also seem to be the preference these days. Prices for these pulls is not bad if you get the hollow ones - around $1 each in quantity (versus close to $5 for solid). You cannot tell hollow versus solid once they are on the door. Soft close doors and drawers are also what all the new cabinets have (bath and kitchen). I wouldn't mess with drawers but if you replace the door hinges you might want to spend a couple dollars more for the soft close ones.

If you decide to spray, I like Resisthane. I would also get their primer. You could put on three coats in a day and it is rated as a kitchen cabinet finish.

redknife

Chris
Corporate Member
Bryan: Here are some pics- not a great but all I have at the moment. The one pic has a cabinet temporarily sitting on the counter that I removed from another wall.
attachment.php
attachment.php

Attachments

• B083AFFE-F9E0-4475-8A21-6700AF5CE8A5.jpeg
    B083AFFE-F9E0-4475-8A21-6700AF5CE8A5.jpeg
    596.4 KB · Views: 423
  • FAF73C17-C49D-4DF6-97C2-3EF3FDC1D0F4.jpeg
    FAF73C17-C49D-4DF6-97C2-3EF3FDC1D0F4.jpeg