Just joined

Status
Not open for further replies.

6_Myles

New User
Myles
and wanted to say hi. Just been searching through all the info and look forward to learning even more.

I'm an architect in Asheville and in the middle of building my house so I get to do all kinds of different woodworking, one day I'll get back to making furniture. So this place has been great for me to find a quick answer.

My project right now is trying to get my rough sawn walnut milled into to floors, currently at the kiln, so I'm sure I'll have all kinds of questions in the near future. See everyone around.

Myles

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Myles, welcome to NCWW! An architect building his own house, boy I bet you're a picky customer :) I don't think I've ever seen walnut floors, so please post some pictures after it comes out of the kiln.

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
Welcome aboard, Myles. Architect, eh? Great! Now we have someone we can throw our building questions to !!

Be sure to post somoe pics of the walnut when you get it milled.

:wsmile:

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Great to have you join us, Myles!!!:eusa_danc:eusa_danc:eusa_danc

I too would really like to see a finished walnut floor!!! Bet it will sure look pretty!

Let me quess. you like walnut furniture too, eh???

Hope you can get a chance to post some photos of your work!

Have fun here!

Wayne

woodArtz

New User
Bob
Great to have you with us Myles! Welcome to our merry band of woodworkers. :icon_thum:icon_thum:icon_thum

6_Myles

New User
Myles
Thanks for the welcome. This will be my first walnut floor too so it's been a bit of a learning curve. So far I've found two finishes I'm thinking about: OSMO and Waterlox. Both are an "oil" finish and the OSMO coat is a low-VOC and a greener product.