Jointer Basic Training

Status
Not open for further replies.

rick7938

New User
Rick
Yesterday, I finished refurbishing an old 6" Craftsman jointer that I inherited from my Dad. It has a 36" cast iron bed and fence and seems to run OK after I built a stand and installed a motor and new blades.

I need some advice on properly using my new old jointer. I have never used one before so any advice will be very helpful. I have many questions such as:

1. What is the proper way to feed wood into the cutters while edge jointing? Where should my hand pressure be as the wood feeds into and out of the cutters?

2. What is the proper way to feed wood into the cutters to plane wood on the wide sides?

3. What is the shortest length of wood that I should try to joint?

4. Do most of you edge joint your wood before or after rough cutting to length?

5. What is the best way, even if the most time consuming way, to adjust planer blades without using the expensive jigs?

Any other advice will be greatly appreciated.

M

McRabbet

Rick,

First, be sure that the outfeed and infeed tables are perfectly parallel to one another -- the easiest way to check this is with a good quality straightedge with the two tables set to the same height and set above the knives. There should be no gaps.
Second, be certain to adjust the outfeed table to be at or just a few thousandths above the knives and that the knives are parallel to the table across the bed (see this thread and this one).