Help with finishing Cherry

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexSwansboro

New User
Alex
I am building some cherry night stands and I am at a point where I am ready to finish them. I have applied two coats of Arm R Seal from General finishes to a test piece.

Unfinished_Cherry.jpg

View image in gallery

The picture above is a piece of the cherry is unfinished.

The picture above is a piece of cherry that has two coats of Arm R Seal. The first coat was cut 50/50 with mineral spirits. I would like to have the piece a bit darker while still making the grain come out as much as possible.

What can I do to make it just a bit darker? Will the cherry get darker with time? Can I add some dye to it? If so, can you offer some suggestions?

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
Cherry darkens when exposed to sunlight. To test how much, partially cover your test piece and see how much darker the exposed area gets after a day in the sun. Since I'm not a finishing expert (1 year experience, repeated 50 times!), my schedule for cherry is shellac or wipe-on if protection is needed. I've tried conditioner and wash coats of shellac before staining, but at least one board will blotch. So I quit staining!

AlexSwansboro

New User
Alex
Cherry darkens when exposed to sunlight. To test how much, partially cover your test piece and see how much darker the exposed area gets after a day in the sun. Since I'm not a finishing expert (1 year experience, repeated 50 times!), my schedule for cherry is shellac or wipe-on if protection is needed. I've tried conditioner and wash coats of shellac before staining, but at least one board will blotch. So I quit staining!

Wipe on polyeurothane? What brand?

AndyET

New User
Andy
Hi,

I recently completed a bedroom set (King size bed, 2 night stands, lingerie chest, cedar chest, chest of drawers, dresser). These I made from Cherry and Curly Maple. I also wanted to have the cherry darker.